Super Heroes and Intermissions

I turned 33 years old yesterday. It’s weird to think that in the last year, I’ve gone from wondering if anyone ever was going to pick up Crimes Against Magic, to being a published author with a some-what successful first book published. It’s funny how fast things happen once the ball starts rolling.

I didn’t do much yesterday, it was far too hot to be outside for any length of time. So, I went to watch The Dark Knight Rises at the cinema. I don’t get to go very often, but I was never going to miss watching the last movie in the Batman trilogy. So how was it? Ummm, I’m undecided. It was a very good film. Let’s get out of the way first. I really enjoyed it. Everyone was excellent in it, especially the new members of the cast. Catwoman is a wonderful character and Anne Hathaway goes some way to show everyone else what comic book readers have known for years. Catwoman kicks ass.

The fact that she’s incredibly sexy is neither here nor there, obviously.

Bane was an interesting and pretty impressive villain and I loved the little nods to the comics as the movie continued.

So, why the ‘ummm’?

Well, first of all, it’s the weakest of the three movies. Easily the weakest. I don’t mean Godfather 3 territory, but more like Back to the Future 2. But while it may be the weakest movie of the trilogy, it’s still better than most films that get put out there. My main problem contains a small spoiler.

Mild Spoiler -

Batman looks like an idiot by the end of the movie. Over and over again things happen that as the ‘World’s Greatest Detective’, he should have seen them coming a mile off. In fact one of the ‘twists’ is so obvious that they may as well have just done it a few seconds into the movie, just to save time.
Also, while I’m doing Spoilers. Cillian Murphy’s cameo was fantastic.

Spoiler End

So it was good, but not Avengers good. Nothing I’ve seen this year has been that good. Over all it was a good end to the Nolan trilogy, but not necessary the best end it could have been.

It also lacked any Hulk smashing. An oversight on WB’s part, I feel.

…..

This is going to be my last post for a few weeks. What with the new baby imminent in a few days I felt it best not to write any more blogs until I’m actually able of coherent thought, which admittedly could be a while. But all is not lost. Because I’ve lined up some fantastic writers with interviews and guest blogs to take my place starting next week.

I’d like to leave you with one final thought. A picture of my eldest daughter, Keira on her dress up for school day. My daughter doesn’t do pink or girlie.

….

To save time, you should probably just start fearing her now.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in Baby, Comics, Movies, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Wishing your wife, and you, all the best for the birth Steve. Your online mates will be thinking of you and your family while you’re away.

    As one of the best movies of the year, the Avengers was always going to take some beating and over the years the Batman movies have varied a lot in quality. I still like the 1960’s original. KKkpoW!

    • The Avengers was excellent. I saw the original Batman 1960s movie the other day… age hasn’t been kind. But it’s very funny.

      And thanks very much. Hopefully, Harley will turn up soon.

  2. Good luck for the birth of your new baby! I adore your daughter! She looks amazing :)
    I’m hoping you’ll post some super cute pics of your new baby too…

  3. Best of luck for the forthcoming addition, just hope she’s more managable than a certain other Harley. LOL Incidently you do realise she will be following Keira round, don’t you. Sort of her sidekick. LOL

    Anyway, will be thinking of you all and hope that things go well.

    • Keira already has 1 side-kick in the form of Faith, she doesn’t need even more people. :-) I hope Harley is more manageable than her namesake, I don’t fancy having to stop her committing bank robberies at the weekend. :-)

  4. Best wishes on the impending arrival, and keep up the great writing!

  5. Good luck with the baby! Interesting Views on the movie. I still can’t decide which one I liked best, but I did really enjoy this one.

    Julie/Firewolf

  6. I turn 33 in a few days too. :( Your little girl is so cute I love the Joker costume. :) I enjoyed this reveiw. I wanted to go see the new spiderman movie and my husband wants to go see the new batman review I have heard about it here and on a pod cast as well. While I would rather go see spider man your reveiw has me thinking going to Batman instead wont be so bad. I love Catwoman and can’t wait to see Bain kick Batmans Butt. :P I hear that’s a pretty great scene. Thanks for the reveiw. :)

  7. SOMEWHAT successful? Dude, your book is epically successful.

  1. Pingback: The Lovely blog award | mythinger

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,133 other followers

