Introduction Part 2

Welcome back to part two of my introduction. If you missed yesterday, go here. I’ll wait.

…..

And now on with my friends asking very poignant questions.

Tammy E. A. Crosby

How long have you been married? How did you and your wife meet? Were you a writer before or after you met?

I’ve been married for just under 6 ½ years now, 7 in September. I met my wife in college and we started seeing each other about 3 years after we left. But that’s another story all together.

I’ve always written, but never considered myself a ‘writer’. That didn’t happen until a few years ago.

Do you ever write stories just for your child/children?

It’s a cop-out answer, but sort of. I usually just tell the story as I’m going, which means it changes every time. But I rarely write them down. I did write my eldest, Keira who’s 7, a letter from the tooth fairy apologising for not putting money under her pillow, which went down a storm. I was quite proud of it.

Danielle LaPaglia

What made you decide to join a writing group?

I remember reading that joining a writing group can help with your writing, so I looked around and as I’m a fan of Kelley Armstrong’s books, I figured that would be a good fit for me. That was about 5 years ago now and I’ve not regretted it one bit. My writing has improved, but more importantly I’ve met some fantastic people, without whom I’d never have gotten this far.

How supportive is your family?

Very supportive. That’s the short answer. The longer one – You know the old adage that your family never tells you the truth? Well, if that’s true, then it’s clear that my family have some sort of personal vendetta against me. My wife is always happy to tell me what does and doesn’t work and what she doesn’t like. That said, she’s always pushed me to do better and when she likes something she does say so.

TJ James

What video game character would you most like to be, and why?

As a bit of a videogame geek, I should probably try to come up with something obscure. But I’d quite like to be the main character from an Elder Scrolls games. Mostly because I could be whatever I pleased, but whatever it was, I’d be a badass.

How are you training your children for World Domination, and Universal Dictatorship?

Well Keira’s well on her way to World Domination through just being far too smart for her own good. I get the feeling my youngest (Faith is almost 2) is a “just likes to watch the world burn” kinda person. If there’s destruction to be had, she’s usually in the middle of it with a big grin on her face. No training required.

Keri Lake

What inspired you to write Crimes Against Magic?

I’ve always been into mythology, magic and things that go bump in the night, so combining them all into one story felt like a natural fit. But I wanted to put my own spin on those old mythological tales. The hard part was trying to figure out what the real story might have been and separating it from the mythology. I figure if they were true, then for some, those tales must have been their version of propaganda. Trying to deconstruct that has hopefully led to some fun re-imagining of famous mythological characters. Basically, I wanted to write a book that I would like to read and it went from there.

Since I’ve had the pleasure of beta reading your MS, I can attest that you do mix history and mythology and weave them into an intriguing storyline.  What kind of research went into writing the pieces that go back to the 1400’s.  Do you find it difficult to transition between the past and present (keeping facts and details accurate)?

Firstly, thank you for the kind words.

When it comes to research, I tried to get the details correct as much as possible. I had to remove a lot of words that came about after that time period, which caused a few headaches. And I needed to check that certain weapons actually existed during that time.

I find it quite easy to jump between the two. I write the notes for the past and present sections separately and then try to figure out where the best places to jump between the two are. I wanted to use the past sections as the place where I can deposit the information about the world and things in it without losing the flow of the present plot. Hopefully that’s been achieved.

And there we have my first two posts. Hopefully, you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. I’d just like to thank everyone who took part in helping me do something a little different for a first post. Let this be the start of something entertaining.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Interview, Introductions., Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I love the Elder Scrolls Ninja bowman. It sounds like you will need all those skillz in real life when your kids get older, taller, and smarter than their Dad. 🙂

    Crimes against Magic sounds like it’ll be an intriguing read, and could form the basis of some interesting blog articles. Just a thought…

  2. It’s a good training regime. 🙂 Although I don’t plan on firing too many arrows at them. I have a different answer for any boys who come round in a few years.

    The next post will be about Crimes Against Magic. Which will be next friday. That’s the plan anyway.

  3. Welcome to the world of blogging, Steve! Great idea for your first blog posts, too!

  4. Another solid interview and a fun one. I’ll look forward to reading each new blog. Oh and just in case. Don’t ask Faith to make a pencil disappear. LOL

    Hope you keep having fun with Skyrim. I’ve worked my way through a few missions and adapted a few skills. I’m shortly going to be take on a whole new personality with the character and have them doing the sneaky.

    • Thanks for reading. Faith’s pencil use is relegated to colouring in our front room wall. We’ll leave using it as a deadly weapon out until she’s older. 🙂

      I’m loving Skyrim. I did the sneaky character first, a sneaky Nord, which was a bit odd I guess. Great fun. I re-did it as a magic, archer user, which has been a blast.

  5. Excellent way to roll out the blog! Great part two!

  6. That was another fun read. Thanks for sharing more about yourself.

  7. Welcome to the blogging world, Steve!

    It was an enjoyable intro, indeed!

  8. I love this interview. I love how you say you wrote the book you wanted to read. That’s so important–often authors feel like they must pander to a market, but the most authentic writing (I feel) comes from writing what we WANT to. 🙂

    Adriana

    • I agree with you, I think writing the book you’d most like to read will usually lead to the most interesting books. And usually they’re the ones whwere you can tell that the author has loved writing their story.

  9. The world domination question by TJ was awesome! LOVED your answer 🙂 So cute! Hahaha “just likes to watch the world burn.”

    You’ve created a book that I enjoyed reading as well! Looking forward to its official release.

    Nice job on part 2! This was a great way to introduce yourself into the blogosphere.

    • I’ll be posting an official release date closer to the time, when everything is ready. But it won’t be too long.

      I actually feel sorry for her teachers when Faith starts school in a few years. They have no idea what’s coming. 😉

  10. Really good fun here Steve, another great post. 🙂

  11. Great introduction (both posts), I loved the Q&A sessions 🙂 But overall I’m glad to see your blog has appeared, I remember asking about it fairly recently and had been keeping an eye out on twitter for news of it.

Leave a Reply

