A Very Special Announcement

I had a nice idea for my first solo post that included telling everyone about my book that will be coming out this year, Crimes Against Magic.  The best laid plans of mice and men, and all that.

I was going to wait for a few weeks to announce this. But seeing how a lot of people seem to already know, I figure I may as well make it official.

My wife and I are going to have our third child, due in early August.

Originally, I was going to wait until the first scan had gone, and then let people know. But, as per usual, that’s flown right out the window. So, to stop the haphazard way in which people find out, I figured telling everyone at once was probably a good idea. And what’s a blog for, if not to put all information in one place.

For those of you who don’t have children, you won’t know the mixture of joy and mortal terror at discovering you’re going to be a father. Well, that’s true of baby 1 anyway. By the time you get to the 3rd, it’s mostly a case of figuring out when I might actually get some sleep again. Short answer. Never.

We don’t know what the sex is yet, but so long as it’s healthy and happy I’m not fussed. Besides my wife and I rock on the baby name front, so we’ve already got some cool names picked out for either eventuality. My eldest daughter wants to call it Harley Quinn if it’s a girl. My wife is not coming round to the idea as much as Keira would like.

So that’s the blog for this week, thanks to everyone who came and looked around or commented last week. You never know, next time I may actually get to talk about writing.

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Annoucement, Baby, Comics, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. Congratulations to you and the whole family, Steve! And good luck on that whole sleep thing!

  2. Hi Steve,

    I wish you all the best for <em)both births this year… and I hope they bring you joy…

    How anyone manages to be a writer with two kids, and a third on the way, I can’t imagine. Congratulations on managing that miracle…

  3. Hey Steve,
    Congrats on the news. AS to figuring out when you’re going to get the sleep. I believe you’ll be catching up with it in retirement. (At least thats why I suspect a lot of older people grab it where they can. LOL)

    Hope everything goes well for the family and look at the bright side, there are some worse comic character names to call the baby. LOL

    • Thanks very much, I figure when they’re all 18 and they leave I can sleep for about 6 months straight to catch up. 🙂

      There are many worst comic book names for a baby, that argument doesn’t seem to make her want Harley Quinn more though.

  4. Congrats/my condolences:)

  5. To heck with the kid… what about the book? LOL. Seriously, congratulations.

  6. This is excellent news, Steve! Congrats. I have a Harley. She’s not a Quinn, but she does love Harley Quinn. I think it’s an awesome name. Go Keira! Keep pushing!

  7. Congratulations, Steve! That’s awesome news!

  8. Congrats!!!

    Julie/Firewolf

  9. Congratulations to the McHugh family 🙂 What an exciting year this will be for you!!

  10. Congrats Steve! Wonderful news. And I have 3 also. You never sleep again, and it only gets worse when they’re teens and then you’re worried about where they are and you’re waiting up for them. Kids… ughhh! But, so worth it! I’m happy for you! 🙂

  11. Congratulations buddy! I love Harley Quinn!!!! Gets my vote. 🙂

Leave a Reply

