Returned for Batman

Apart from being a fan of anime, videogames and foreign films (all of which I’m sure went towards me getting my wife), I’m also a big comic book fan. “Comics? Why that’s for young whippersnappers and ruffians. Not the stuff a grown man should be partaking with,” some of you will say, in what I’d like to imagine is a stuffy British accent. But, as much as I’d like to go through and explain why those who think like that are wrong, I’d destined myself to not enlightening the masses a long time ago. Anyway, as much as I love comics, two years ago I stopped. Went cold turkey. You see, I’ve always collected Comics, ever since I purchased Uncanny X-men #272 when I was twelve years old (There’s no point explaining what happened in that comic, because I still don’t totally understand the storyline after all these years).

Like any 90s X-men comic, it was full of large breasts, metal body parts, guns that were far too large to be useful and manly poses. It was a simpler time.

From that moment on, I was a Marvel fan and picked up what I could when I could afford it. Then when I reached an age of having a regular income, I picked up a lot on a regular basis. Then two years ago I go so fed up with so much about what was happening in the industry, the constant cross-over’s for the most part, that I just stopped. DC never really got a look in. There’s was a minefield of history that was nigh-on impenetrable and characters I just didn’t care about.  Oh, there were bright points-Flash and JSA by Geoff Johns and Secret Six by Gail Simone, but for the most part very little DC (that doesn’t include Vertigo) made its way onto my regular reading list. So, I was comicless for 2 years. And then I started to hear about DC’s 52. The idea behind it being that all of the regular monthly comics would be cancelled and replaced with all new comics with no history to concern yourselves with. My first look around a comic store after it started led me to five titles, but one really stood out. Batman, written by Scott Snyder, with art by Greg Capullo.

This isn't issue 1's cover, but most people wouldn't know that anyway.

I’m not a huge Batman fan. I’ve always preferred the idea of him to what was actually written. The past five months have changed my mind. #5 came out a few weeks ago, and I think it’s fair to say that Scott Snyder has written something that will stack up as one of the best Batman stories I’ve ever read. It’s creepy, cruel and although I know that somehow Batman must win, I have no idea how. He seems outmatched, outthought and genuinely out of his league. On top of this, #5 contained one of the most impressive pieces storytelling I’ve ever seen (it’s to do with how you read the comic, but I don’t want to spoil it for those who want to read it and haven’t). Scott Snyder also writes the wonderful American Vampire, a book that anyone even slightly interested in Vampires as actual beings of fear should read. He brings that sense of terror at places it in a book about superheroes and the end results are something that more people should witness.

How can you look at that and think it's not creepy?

This is a mainstream superhero comic which genuinely does something compelling. The writing and art have formed a perfect match, and that’s a rare thing these days. So after 2 years without comics, Batman, Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo was what brought me back to a medium that has given me so much joy over the years. It’s good to be back.

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Comics, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. It’s great to see comics, or graphic novels as grown-ups like to call them, making a come back. When done right the scripts and dialogue make compelling reading. Now I’ve just got to find time to read some… 🙂

  2. I tend to stick with people like Garth Ennis. I love his storytelling and whilst the last compendium of The Boy’s wasn’t as good as it could have been, its definitely stacking up for a huge showdown.

    I used to be a regular in the comic shop but sadly finances and of course other halfs have a habit of saying no. 😦

    • I’m a big Garth Ennis fan, and enjoy The Boys (I haven’t read the most recent). I don’t read anywhere near as much as I used to, having a family tends to mean you don’t get to spend what I used to.

  3. I started collecting Uncanny at 191 and kept going till around the low 300s. I was a huge fan of Chris Claremont, Marc Silvestri, Whilce Portacio, and of course, Jim Lee. I supposed they’re all hanging out at my parents place. Sadly, I credit much of my vocabulary and tendency towards excessive hyperbole to my comic collecting days.

Leave a Reply

