The Old, The New and The Madness

March Madness is almost over, and although I probably didn’t get the exact number of words I wanted, I did okay. I certainly managed to get a lot of what needed to be done, finished.

And now for the next few weeks I’ll be concentrating on getting Crimes Against Magic ready. This year seems to have flown by so far, and it’s hard to imagine that I’m already at the point where I’m getting ready to publish my first book. In a few weeks, I’ll post the opening few chapters and let people know more details about when and where it’ll be available.

In other news: I finished The Hunger Games at the weekend and although I can think of a few things I wasn’t that impressed with, most of my problems wouldn’t be an issue for the age group the book was aimed at. Overall though, I really enjoyed it and will be picking up book 2 once things calm down a little around here.

I saw the new pictures for the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic this week, which were, quite frankly stunning. They’re going to be in the April issue of National Geographic.

No matter how many times I see pictures of the wreck, it never gets any less creepy. I feel the same way about hearing the song from the movie.

The Titanic has a special place in our family as my wife’s Great Grandfather was on-board when it sank. He was a fireman (not in the sense of a modern day fireman, but someone who keeps the fires burning for the fuel), and was very lucky to get off when so many others lost their lives. Apparently he was ordered onto one of the lifeboats so that he could row. My eldest daughter, Keira, went to her school for Titanic day dressed up as him. I was particularly proud of the fake moustache.

My own Great, Great Grandfather was meant to be on the Titanic too. But he got drunk in a pub and woke up after it had set sail. Yep, that kinda sums up that part of the family right there. To be fair, in hindsight it probably worked out well for him.

The big new this week, and clearly the most important, is that my wife and I discovered that our new little bundle of joy is another girl. I’m very happy about this news and even more that my wife has agreed to name her Harley.

I guess I know what my next tattoo will be.

That’s right I’m going to live in a house with three girls and my wife. When the teenage years come, I’m going to be in a state of permanent cat-like readiness.

That’s it for another week. Hope everyone has a good weekend.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Annoucement, Baby, Born of Hatred, Crimes Against Magic, Personal, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! What wonderful news. 🙂 I’m one of three girls, and I can tell you that teenagehood wasn’t actually that bad in our house. Sisters look out for each other, yo.

  2. Awesome news about your babies Steve, your daughter and your book. Keep us posted on both. Like the name, and the tattoo BTW.

  3. Great piece. To be honest I’m both fascinated and horrified by the Titanic. Partly because of what happened and partly that having discovered it I think its something we should leave alone as a monument to those who lost their lives, it feels like grave robbing to be honest.

    The picture is haunting and yet the strangest part is the fact that it feels serene when you view it like that. The stories of connection to the ship are wonderful though and you’d be amazed at the amount of coincidences that have occured during times of danger.

    Congrats on your wife coming round to Harley. (You do have the option of a macho biker tattoo now though. LOL) It’ll be a cracking name and you can always nickname her Quinn. LOL

    • I feel the same about the Titanic. I don’t think you can quite get your head around the scale of what happened. I agree that it should be left as a monument to all of those people who died that day. The pictures are superb, I’ll have to keep an eye out for a copy of the magazine for my wife.

      Thanks very much, I knew she’d get there eventually, although it was my daughters calling the baby Harley that swayed it I think. I probably will end up calling her Harley Quinn, but I don’t want to tell my wife that. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your daughter!!!

    I’m glad that the Titanic wasn’t as tragic for your family as it could have been.

    • It worked out well for them. Although being so drunk you forget to catch the boat isn’t the most dignified way to get out of trouble. Still, it’s good that he did.

      And thanks very much. We’re all very excited.

  5. I’ve always been fascinated by the Titanic. It’s one of those stories from history that sounds like it was made up (I wish it had been). Congrats on the third girl. I’m one of three girls and can also testify that it wasn’t too bad during the teen years. Enjoy this special time of anticipation as your family grows.

    • I think it’s the amount of time between what happened it makes it sort of unreal. It’s a scale we can’t quite imagine.

      Thanks very much. Although my family isn’t growing any further, unless I can finally get that dog I’ve always wanted.

  6. Love the name Harley, but you already knew that. 🙂

    And both of your stories about the Titanic made me smile. Just wow.

    • Thanks, PJ. I love the name too, but I think it was Keira and Faith saying they liked it that pushed Vanessa to agree.

      I’m glad you liked the stories, it’s amazing the stuff you can find out about your families history. Part of mine is Sicilian, although my mum swears they have nothing to do with the mafia at all. 🙂

  7. Oh, Steve…three girls…yikes! Good luck to you 😉

    That is an awesome picture of the Titanic! Very cool!

Leave a Reply

