Wednesday Wippet #2

So, it’s the 2nd Wednesday Wippet, where I post something from my WiP, Born of Hatred. The only rule is, it has to be something that’s relevant to the date. So, as today is the 13th, I’ll post something from the 13th chapter.

Like last week, this hasn’t been edited, so there might be the occasional spelling/grammar issue, as I don’t want to spend tons of time going through it, as it defeats the point.

I hope you enjoy it:

 

“Anything else, Doc?” I asked.

He removed a thermometer from inside the wound. “It’s hard to give an exact time of death, but I would say about four to five hours ago. Whatever is doing this, it’s like nothing I’ve seen in my hundred and ninety years of life.”

I thanked him and, with a head full of information, went off to find Tommy and Sara.  Instead I found one of the agents who had been the contact for the killer. “Agent Reid,” I said and offered my hand, which he took.

“Are you helping with the investigation?” He asked.

“Just a fresh set of eyes, I’m not trying to step on anyone’s toes.”

He raised an eyebrow. “You pissed off some people earlier. That would be akin to jumping up and down on people’s toes.”

“I get that a lot,” I assured him. “Do you mind if I ask you a few things?”

“Go nuts.”

“The killer, Olivia says he calls you.”

“He calls Greaves,” he corrected. “Usually a few hours after he’s killed them. Greaves got the call just over an hour ago. We came here first and then contacted Director Green.”

“Greaves is a werewolf, yes?”

“Yes, I am,” I rough voice snapped from behind me. “Is there a problem with that?”

I turned toward the surly man with a smile on my face. “No problems. I just wanted to know if you caught any scent.”

“And I should tell you why?” He jabbed a finger at my chest. I glanced down at the digit and wondered if I should break it.

 

And that’s it for another Wippet. It’s much harder work than I’d thought, trying to find bits that don’t spoil anything, while still giving a taste of what’s in store.

Next week is the 20th, so you’ll be getting a glimpse of what the flashbacks in the book are about.

 

 

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Born of Hatred, Fun, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Your wippets have got me really interested in your story!

  2. Ah, more chocolate, nomnomnomnom. Keep it coming. 🙂

  3. OOhh intriguing! certainly keeps me hanging out for more!

  4. People like free stuff – especially when it’s exciting free stuff. I like Nate – I wouldn’t invite him around for dinner, but he appeals in the pages of a book:

    “…I glanced down at the digit and wondered if I should break it.”

    He is a sadist with a cultured veneer – and the utter swine many secretly wish they could get away with being when faced with some of the … less pleasant individuals you meet in everyday life…

Leave a Reply

