Today I am a Professional Author (and a piece of advice)

On April 29th, I wrote a piece titled ‘Today I am a Published Author‘, it was to signify the day that my first ever book was published.

That was two months ago, and since that day, it’s been a roller-coster ride of highs and lows. If there’s one thing I can say about being an Indie author, it’s never dull. It’s depressing,  heart-breaking and incredible, but never dull.

So, two months after that book went live, I got my first ever payment. My first one. Okay, it was for £22 (about $35), but I don’t care, it was for 1 day’s worth of book sales in the UK and I got paid. So today I move from being an author, to being a professional author. I now get paid for something I love doing (I promise not to go around calling myself a professional author, that’s just being a bit of a tit).

I think I’ll have to buy my first boat on an instalment plan.

That was not the only thing that happened this week that I felt a need to share with you all. If you’re a UK writer and you’re an Indie, you have to get a Tax number from the IRS otherwise Amazon send the lovely fellows over there 30% of your earnings. This is something I learnt a few days ago and immediately set about trying to get hold of the IRS.

My only real problem (apart from being on hold for an hour) was the awful music. You make enough money, get a bit of something interesting on there.

As it turns out it was quite easy. There’s a number to call on the Amazon FAQ’s about tax. You call it, ask for an EIN (if your a company) and there you go. Unfortunately it takes about an hour to get through to them, and about 5 minutes to complete the call. And the number is in the US. Which means your phone bill is going to take a kicking. So, here’s my advice. Get Skype. It cost me about 85p to use it to call them. I can’t believe how much easier it was.

So, yes, this week was a bit of a learning experience. But the fact that I can now state that I get paid to write, is one of those things I’d always dreamt of. Yeah, I’m not making Stephen King money. But right now, right here, all that matters is that people have bought my book and enjoyed it enough to keep it. I won’t go into sales figures (I want a few months of data before I do), but this is where Crimes Against Magic is currently sitting (as of 20:30 on 27/June/12).

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,981 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

And you know what, that looks damn good to me. And, touch wood, long may it continue.

This much wood.

Posted on June 28, 2012, in Crimes Against Magic, Personal, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome, Steve. Enjoy life as a high-roller: the drugs, drink, the jet, the fast cars, fast – I think I need to stop there. 😉

    Seriously, it’s great you’ve just achieved one of your life’s ambitions. Congratulations.

  2. Hurray for getting paid!
    And great job on the statistics, too.
    Now everyone will want to “pull a McHugh”.

  3. It’s feels good to get paid, even if it’s just a little. My first story earned me $11 (US). I was careful not to blow it all in once place. But look at all the great artists who starved doing what they love. Congratulations.

  4. It may not be a fortune but its a great start. Well done Steve. That said the whole tax thing sounds like one hel lof a headache to be honest. If I ever need to sort it out I’ll give you a buzz to find the easy way round it.

  5. Everyone starts somewhere and it’s a great start:) That’s for the info on tax.

  1. Pingback: Publishing Advice From a Newbie, to a Newbie. « Steve McHugh

  2. Pingback: So I called the IRS today …

Leave a Reply

