Interview with Michelle Muto

 

As I mentioned last week, for the next few weeks my blog will be taken over by a variety of very talented individuals. First up is the fantastic Michelle Muto, author of Don’t Fear the Reaper and The Book of Lost Souls, both of which are excellent and judging from the reviews she’s received, I’m not the only one who thinks so. She also happens to be one of my excellent crit partners and I couldn’t be happier for her.

Here’s the blurb for Don’t Fear the Reaper:

Haunted by memories of her murdered twin, Keely Morrison is convinced suicide is her only ticket to eternal peace. But in death, she discovers the afterlife is nothing like she expected. Instead of peaceful oblivion or a joyful reunion with her sister, Keely is trapped in a netherworld on Earth with only a bounty-hunting reaper and a sarcastic demon to show her the ropes.

When the demon offers Keely her ultimate temptation–revenge on her sister’s killer–she must determine who she can trust. Because, as Keely soon learns, the reaper and demon have been keeping secrets and she fears the worst is true–that her every decision changes how, and with whom, she spends eternity.

And here’s a fantastic excerpt:

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil, for they are with me.

I repeated my version of the psalm as I watched the ribbon of blood drift from my wrist. I’d hoped it would be a distraction—something to stop me from wondering what my sister’s dying thoughts had been. Exhaling slowly, I let the emptiness consume me.

Jordan had kept my secrets and I had kept hers. In the end, it came down to just one secret between us that took her life. Now, it would take mine. I should have said something, but nothing I said or did now could bring her back or make anyone understand what she meant to me.

Are you here, Jordan? Are you with me? Tell me about heaven…

I told myself Jordan was gone, never coming back, but her memories continued to haunt me. I had no idea if there even was an afterlife. If God existed, I was convinced he had given up on me. Not once did I sense he’d heard a single one of my prayers. I wasn’t asking for the world—I only wanted to know if my sister was safe and at peace. What was so hard about that?

She should still be here. It wasn’t fair.

I’d been the difficult one—much more than Jordan. For a while, I’d even gotten into drugs. Mom and Dad had worried I’d get Jordan into drugs, too. But I wouldn’t. Not ever. Besides, that part of my life had been over long before Jordan’s death. A small gargoyle tattoo on my left shoulder was all that remained of my previous lifestyle.

Mom and Dad started treating me differently after Jordan’s funeral two months ago. She and I were twins, so I understood how hard it was for them to look at me and not see her. Sometimes, they wouldn’t look at me at all. Mom went to the psychiatrist, but no one asked if I needed to talk to someone about what happened. No one asked if I needed sleeping pills or antidepressants. Yeah, sure. Don’t give the former addict pills of any sort.

Not one person saw the all-consuming suffering that gnawed at my soul. Why couldn’t anyone see? Jordan had been more than my sister—she’d been my Samson, my strength. I would have done anything for her, and yet, I’d failed her. I wasn’t the one who’d killed her, but I might as well have been. How could I ever live with that? My heart had a stillness to it since her death.

I shall fear no evil.

I couldn’t very well recite the first part of Psalm 23 because it said I shall not want, and I did want. I wanted to go back in time. I wanted my sister back. Clearly, goodness and mercy were never going to be part of my life ever again. In my mind, I saw myself walking through the iron gates of hell with demons cackling gleefully all around.

I didn’t want to die. Not really. I was just tired and didn’t know of another way to stop the pain. Doctors removed a bad appendix. Dentists pulled rotten teeth. What was I supposed to do when my very essence hurt, when the cancer I’d come to call depression made every decent memory agonizingly unbearable?

—-

I told you it was good, and it only gets better from there.

And now onto the Interview:

1. Do you have any other projects in the pipeline?

I do! I’m finishing up another young adult novel intended for older teens. It’s set in Savannah, Georgia, in a very haunted house.

2. What has been the best compliment you’ve received as an author?

I’ve had readers and even some agents tell me that the first couple of chapters of DON’T FEAR THE REAPER are some of the best they’ve read.

3. What’s your favourite genre to write in?

Paranormal.

4. Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love for it to be my career. We’ll see. It needs to pay a few more bills first before I can say that, though.

5. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The length of time it take to actually finish a good, solid draft.

6.Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you. Sincerely. Because every author with a story to tell writes with you in mind.

7. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

For me, it was seeing the first payment in the bank.

 8. If you could work with any author who would it be?

Stephen King.

9. What TV shows do you enjoy?

Supernatural, Vampire Diaries, Castle, The Mentalist, Person of Interest

10. Wile E. Coyote or Road Runner?

Wile E. Coyote. He’s funnier, and I can totally relate to his luck.

11. What’s your favourite Monty Python film/sketch?

I LOVE the argument sketch!

Thanks very much for taking part, Michelle. And for anyone who wants to learn more about Michelle or her books there’s some links just below that I recommend you click on.

LINKS:

Blog

Twitter

FaceBook

Amazon US

Amazon UK

Smashwords

B&N

iTunes

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Fun, Interview, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That was another excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –

    Writers Wanted

  2. Great interview! And great books, too!

  3. Interesting interview. I think I’ll have to check these books out.

  4. Wow that sounds like a great book. Thank you so much for doing this interview. This book is now on my wishlist. 🙂

  5. Great interview there Michelle and Steve. Definitely a real tempter with Michelle’s book.

    The interview works well as it feels not only natural but also brings the joy and lightness of two people who enjoy writing. Well done.

  6. A nice snappy interview Steve and Michelle. I enjoyed the excerpt – intense and emotionally convincing.

  7. I’ve always known that Michelle was a great writer and she’s also an incredibly nice person, very helpful when answering questions from random people i.e me. great interview.

  8. Thanks for hosting me, Steve! And a huge thanks to everyone who took the time to stop by.

Leave a Reply

