Chicks with Ink

Next in the list of wonderful people to take my blog for a spin is the, quite frankly, uber-talented Angela Addams. It’s all yours, Angie.

I started getting tattooed when I was 19. In fact, my very first tattoo was so painful (the artist admitted to me later that he was intentionally more heavy handed than he needed to be…asshole) that I vowed never to get another one again. As you can see from my pic, that was a vow I broke….big time. I think that my current count is somewhere around 14 or so…but I don’t sit around and count my tattoos very often so I can’t say for sure. We’re not talking little butterflies either…the artist that I went to for years always had a saying whenever I came in with a new idea, “BIGGER” he’d say… “BIGGER, ANGIE!!!” and so we always went bigger.

For a long time I would always make sure to get ink that I could cover, primarily because I was very concerned about judgment within my profession. So yes, that meant if I was going anywhere where I could possibly run into someone from work I would wear jeans and ¾ length shirts, even in the summer. My family didn’t know about my tattoos either…so yeah, I’d cover up for family events too.

I lived and breathed the tattoo world for quite some time. My bff worked as a piercer at a tattoo shop for many years and I would go there to not only get work done but to hang out as well. I went to tattoo conventions. I drank and partied with some of the biggest, most kickass, heavily tattooed folks you could meet. So I didn’t realize until I moved away from the people who were “like me” how very different the rest of the world tends to view women who have many tattoos. I have faced some element of judgment living in a community where my tattooed self kinda stands out. I’ve been followed around stores by security…I’ve been ignored while waiting for service (trust me, that doesn’t last long, I tend to speak up 😉 I’ve been asked inappropriate questions and scolded about how terrible my tattoos will look in thirty years and what a shame I must be to my mother. It’s kind of unbelievable what people think is okay to say to another individual that they don’t know.

What people don’t realize is that my tattoos do many things for me, many positive things. They act as conversation starters…you show me, I’ll show you kinda stuff. They act as a shield…some folks find my appearance intimidating and at times, that’s exactly what I want. A turn on…yes, some men find tattoos on women very attractive and that can be flattering. They are moments in time, symbols of what makes me me. Most importantly though, my tattoos have always been a way of working through the burden of depression. I’ve found that when I’m feeling my lowest, getting tattooed has been a way for me to work through the pain on the inside by feeling a little pain on the outside. Some folks might think that’s a little strange but it seems to work for me. So, there’s more to it than a little (or a lot) of ink on my skin.

We are a judgmental society. I’d be a fool to think that people don’t judge me based on my appearance. I realize that when I walk down the street showing my tattoos, no one is thinking, wow that is one intelligent, highly educated, hard working woman there. Do I care? No, not really. Getting tattooed is an expression of who I am. It’s a part of my life that I won’t ever walk away from.  My ink gives me power, and as a woman I value that above most things.

 Links:

www.angelaaddams.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/angelaaddams

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/people/Angela-Addams/100002825504020

Amazon Author Central: http://www.amazon.com/Angela-Addams/e/B005JOTBPM

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4801196.Angela_Addams?origin=

Every day is Halloween for author Angela Addams. Enthralled by the paranormal at an early age, Angela spends most of her time thinking up new story ideas that involve supernatural creatures in everyday situations.

Well, until now, that is. Angela has recently expanded her creative repertoire to include contemporary erotica, because the written word is an amazing tool for crafting the most erotic of scenarios even if there are no werewolves in sight.

She lives in Ontario, Canada with her loving husband and children.

Posted on August 16, 2012, in Fun, Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Angela, your post comes just a day after I read this article: http://siberiantimes.com/culture/others/features/siberian-princess-reveals-her-2500-year-old-tattoos/ I think you’d find it interesting as they talk about how tattoos in that culture were seen as very different than tattoos are now – they were a sign of status really.

    I hate that people judge others by a stereotype that really doesn’t have anything to do with tattoos at all – not everyone who gets a tattoo is going to mugg you! I don’t have any, I wouldn’t be opposed to getting one but nothing has spoken to me yet to make me want it permanently on my skin.

    I find it interesting that you hid your tattoos for a time though. People who don’t know you are one thing, but people who do know you (family and collegues, etc) surely wouldn’t judge you by body art and forget everything else they know about you?

  2. A very personal, honest, and well written post Angie. I like the way that you are where stereotypes meet, and where they crash ineffectually against the uniqueness of your personality – too strong to be defined by labels or pigeon-holed into any box.

    Keep being unapologetically proud of being you. 🙂

  3. Thanks for having me on your blog, Steve! (And for calling me uber-talented…*blush*)

    Natalie, you’re right about the family stuff…it was mainly the mom factor influencing things there…she did not want anyone knowing about my tattoos…was very concerned about perception…still is to a certain extent but has learned to cope.

    TJ, thank you and I will 😉

  4. Those that know you could never think but the best of you, my friend. Ever.

  5. Awwwwww, thanks, Michelle! You’re pretty great too!

  6. I pose a topic to my students as part of an intro to an argumentative paper. As a class they come up with a list of “Tattoos are a bad idea because….” and each quarter they come up with loads of bad ideas. Keep in mind best estimate is 90% of my students are highly tattooed.

    We then come up with the flip side. They typically come up with 3: Memories, Art, Meaning. I have to probe them to get them to list “permanent” as a positive.

    My point? Even the tattooed community sometimes sees the negative because it’s so ingrained. Either that or they try to tailor their answers to what they think their professor wants to hear. I’ve had a few get irrationally upset and in my face about the topic. Scoffing at the idea that a tat could be a bad idea or looked at as one. They should probably pay more attention…since as their professor, I, myself, am tattooed. Ah, irony.

    Wear them proud, lovely. Wear them proud.
    Ky

  7. Lol, thanks, Kyla…sometimes we get tattoos as a big f.u. to society. Now that they’re becoming more trendy, I wonder what people are gonna do to make a point.

  8. To be honest my other half is tattooed (although she only has 9. Whilst I only have one its a tribute to one of my cats who passed. I do plan to have others and I’m sticking with the celtic/tribal theme but for me I won’t ever get writing as I like having them for memories without having to share. (As I type this Queen Louis (one of my cats) is sat on my lap, flat on her back having her belly rubbed.) In her honour I’m getting a celtic cat paw print done on my left shoulder, its to symbolise that I’m under the paw. LOL

  9. I know all about being under the paw…lol…I have quite a few cat themed tattoos as well.

Leave a Reply

