Sales

On 30th April I launched Crimes Against Magic to the world, with no idea how it would be taken. I didn’t know if it would sell, get good reviews or vanish quietly into the realms of Indie-publishing, never to be spoken of again.

Turns out it did okay. So after having April to September’s complete sales figures, I thought I’d share them with you all. 6 months of sales figures (if not 6 months in actual complete months) is a pretty good selection of data.

Now, I’m not showing this to everyone to show off, I’m fully aware that I’m nowhere near the upper echelon of sales, but maybe someone will read this and they’ll see that if I can do it, then they’ll have some hope that they can too.

So, to do this I’m going to break the figures down into three categories.  We’ll do UK sales first, then EU and we’ll save the American sales until last because that’s where most of my sales have come from.

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see, the figure for sales in the US is astronomically larger than the UK or EU. And I haven’t changed the price (except for 1 week at the end of Sept), so nearly every one of these sales is based on the $4.99 (£3.11) price tag.

So, there’s probably a few questions that you might have from this.

 

Where did these sales come from?

Well, I blogged like a crazy person in May and June, doing spotlights, interviews and anything else I could to get the book out there, so that probably helped. And I’ve gotten some incredible reviews. But the thing that I believe helped the most is the cover. Everyone who has seen the book has told me how good the cover is, and I believe that my sales are certainly helped by having a good cover.

Does this mean I have agents asking for my hand in partnership?

Ummm… no. Not even slightly. In fact, I haven’t heard from any agents, at all. Not that I was expecting to.

 

Where does Crimes Against Magic sit now?

 As of writing (10am UK time), it sits about the 47,000k mark in the UK Kindle store.

 

In the US, it sits here:

 

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,474 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

 

Despite the fact that sales have really dropped off, it’s still pretty damn good. Especially for a first-time, unknown writer.

And to answer a question that I’ve been asked a lot recently.

 

Where are you with Born of Hatred?

Editing. I’m about half way through the editing process and hope to have that done within a week. Then a few people need to read it and we’ll go from there. Basically, it won’t be too long.

 

 

And that’s it for another week. I hope someone found the figures I’ve posted interesting or helpful. Have a good weekend.

Posted on October 4, 2012, in Born of Hatred, Crimes Against Magic, Personal, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Your success is certainly very encouraging. And it seems like it’s far from over. I do agree with you about the cover. So important!

  2. Really well done on this mate, you should be bloody proud of what you have achieved. Really interesting to see how the US has embraced your book too – I think it’s fantastic! Really looking forward to Born of Hatred, mate… and thanks for sharing this stuff too. Personally I find it refreshing that debut authors can make such an impact and you have done just that mate. Good on you!

    • Cheers, Tom. I’m a bit overwhelmed by how much the US has accepted the book. I’d like to think that as a début author, I’m showing you can still sell. I hope that gives others some hope that they can do it too.

  3. Those are awesome numbers, Steve. I’m so happy for you (and Nate). 😉

  4. That’s awesome, Steve! Congrats!

  5. Two of those sales (one in UK and one in US) are me and my Mom! 😀 Thanks for posting about the sales, it’s good to see a breakdown of how things have worked in line with the marketing strategy you’ve had. Great stuff and I can’t wait to read Born Of Hatred.

    • Thanks for picking up a copy, and thanks to your mum too. 🙂 I’m glad to share info like this, I think it’s important for people to read about the ups and downs of other writers.

  6. I went looking for your webpage in hopes of finding out when your next book was out and I certainly didn’t expect to see such a candid blog. Congratulations on your first effort, it was well worth the read. I’ll be posting links to your book via FB and other social media, so hopefully we can find you a few more readers. Good luck to you!

  7. Great figures, Steve. You’ve worked your butt off on the marketing, and it looks like it’s paid off. Having a good story didn’t do you any harm either. Congrats, mate.

  8. Very happy that your book is doing well especially since I enjoyed it. I am already looking forward to your next book and will automatically buy it when it comes out. Keep up the good work!

  9. I saw your post that you are back in the top 100 for UK, which is great to hear. How does that compare to your U.S. sales and are you doing anything differently, marketing wise, that got you back into that top 100?

    • My US sales are massive in comparison. Maybe I sell a dozen a month in the UK and maybe 1200 in the US. No idea how it works out that way if I”m honest, and no idea why the sudden spike in UK sales. I wish I knew, I’d do it more often.

Leave a Reply

