Next Big Thing

Last week Tom Harris tagged me to do the Next Big Thing, a sort of publicity drive for authors, where we answer ten questions about their upcoming, or recently published work. You can read Tom’s great post, here.

So without further ado. Here’s the the answers to the ten questions about my upcoming book.

What is the working title of your book?

Born of Hatred (Book 2 of the Hellequin Chronicles)

Where did the idea come from for the book?

It was a natural progression of the story from book 1, Crimes Against Magic, which came out in April. But before then, I knew I wanted to deal with the undead, but not use Vampires or Zombies, the story sort of came from there.

What genre does your book fall under?

Urban Fantasy, although a few people have called it Action Adventure, which I’m perfectly okay with.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I don’t really think about who might play what character. But I think Michael Fassbender would do a good job as Nate. 

Eva Green would make a great Olivia.

Gerard Butler as Thomas Carpenter.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

I hate synopsis. Hate them. But I’d say:

The time when Nathan Garret was feared is long since passed, but when his friends are targeted by a relentless evil, those who stand in Nathan’s way will learn to fear him once again.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Like my first book, it’ll be self-published. I find it suits me very well at the moment.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

About four months. 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Jim Butcher or Kelley Armstrong are the obvious ones, although we all write very different kinds of story.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I take my inspiration from things I’ll see, read or hear about during the day. So there was probably no one thing that inspired me. Unless you count my wife and daughters. They inspire me to write every single day.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

If you liked Crimes Against Magic, you’ll love Born of Hatred. And if you didn’t like Crimes Against Magic, well I think Born of Hatred is better written and an over all better book. But I’m sort of biased in thinking that.

And if you were interested in what I had to say, you should go read the following people’s Next Big Thing next week.

Colin F. Barnes – He has his up today, you can read it here. Colin is a quill-wielder of vibrant, edgy fiction, mixing sci-fi, horror and thrillers.

Paul TobinPaul has written hundred of comics, working with such characters as Spider-Man, Batman, and his own creations, Colder and Bandette. He also works for video game companies on projects like Angry Birds, and many others. His first novel, Prepare To Die! was released last summer to a wealth of delicious reviews.

Sean Patrick Traver – Sean writes about witches and weirdness in the City of Angels. Check out his world at www.SeanPatrickTraver.com.

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Looking forward to this mate, what a great cast too! Save me a seat at the Premiere!

  2. I love your synopsis for Born of Hatred. It sounds awesome. I got tagged for this a couple of weeks ago. Come by some time and see mine.

  3. Good luck with finishing off Born of Hatred, Steve. I know there are plenty of readers salivating for Nate’s next adventure – I just hope they don’t short-out their eReaders… 😉

Leave a Reply

