Blurb – Born of Hatred

Okay, so I still don’t have a release date for Born of Hatred beyond saying in the next few weeks. For that I’m very sorry. In the last 2 weeks, I’ve had pneumonia and moved house. Not exactly the sort of things that make it easy to get things done. But once the cover and edits are back, it’ll be good to go.

In the meantime here’s the blurb for Born of Hatred:

There was a time when Nathan Garrett was feared. When the mention of his name was enough to stop his enemies in their tracks. That time has long since passed.

When Nathan’s friend asks for help investigating a pattern of horrific crimes, he reluctantly agrees. But his investigation leads to a serial killer who is something more, or less, than human, a creature of pure malevolence and hatred.

There are some things that even a 1600-year-old sorcerer hesitates to challenge. But when evil targets those Nathan cares about, his enemies will discover exactly who Nathan used to be. And why they will learn to fear him once more.

Born of Hatred is an action-packed, Urban Fantasy set in modern-day England with historical flashbacks to late nineteenth century Montana. It’s the second book of the Hellequin Chronicles, following the widely praised Crimes Against Magic, which introduced sorcerer Nathan Garrett.

Hopefully that will tide you over until I have more to tell. In the meantime, I’m arranging something frankly awesome as a competition for the launch of Born of Hatred, or thereabouts, and only those who have read Crimes Against Magic will be able to answer the question I’m going to ask. So, fair warning, if you haven’t gotten a copy yet, or read it, you may want to consider doing so. You can find out where to get a copy here.

Posted on November 16, 2012, in Born of Hatred, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Buy CaM. Read CaM. Wait for BoH. Buy BoH. Read BoH. Enjoy both. Review both. Make Steve happy.

    Wait for the 3rd. Read the 3rd. Enjoy the 3rd. Review the 3rd. Build a small stone shrine to Steve in your garden. Regularly leave offerings at the shrine. Be happy, for your life will be complete.

  2. Can’t wait to see the new cover too! 🙂 Did you get the same artist to do it?

  3. Chrissey Harrison

    I saw this in my facebook feed and actually went *eeeeeee click*. Really excited to read the sequel.

    Oh, and have you ever thought about joining the comic convention scene? We’re doing Cardiff Expo and Bristol Con next year, I bet Nathan would be very popular there 😀

    • Thanks. I have considered it, I used to go to Bristol comicon every year, but stopped a while back. I’m not even sure how I’d get started at going as something other than a fan

      • Chrissey Harrison

        Basically you just book a table and turn up. I’ve done a few now with The Great Escape and Hellbound Media. In fact, my friends are off to Though Bubble in Leeds this weekend. Everyone is really nice. You tend to meet up with the same people each time too. If you’d be interested, let me know, I can get you all the details. Tables tend to range from £30-£100 depending on size and the event. You have my email, I think.

      • I’ll email you about the details, it sounds like a good idea, although I’m pretty sure I’d be bricking it.

  4. Love the blurb, Steve. Can’t wait to see cover art for this one. (and glad you’re feeling better!)

  5. Glad you’re feeling better. Good luck with Born of Hatred.

Leave a Reply

