My Wife

My wife isn’t really someone who’s all that bothered about Valentines Day, which is fortunate because I feel the same way. I find it odd that someone picked one arbitrary day that people should be all romantic. It helps that our anniversary of the start of our relationship is the day after (it certainly makes it easy to remember).

I’ve also never been someone to make big grand gestures of romance; getting a bunch of people to perform a flashmob declaring my love feels like a hell of a lot of time and effort for such a simple act. I’m also not much of a poet, and writing about my undying love for someone makes me sound like a country song, so I think I’ll skip that.

But Valentines Day is as good as any other for singing the praises of my wife, so, I’d like to take a moment to thank her. Everyone else can look away now if they like:

 

Vanessa, without your support and unwavering faith in my abilities, I wouldn’t be here right now with two successful books under my belt. I certainly wouldn’t be writing my third with an eye to being able to go fulltime. I know my writing sometimes gets in the way of you actually getting things done around the house. I know having to look after three kids while I lock myself away can be exhausting. That’s why I always feel bad when I get so little done. You’re giving me time, and that’s one of the most important things a writer can have. And without that time away from distraction, I’d have never gotten anything done.

 

When I wrote Crimes Against Magic, I said in the dedication that you were my better half, and that couldn’t have been truer.

 

So thank you. Thank you for being there for me. For giving me a kick up the ass when I need it and for ranting about the 1 or 2 star reviews I get (usually with liberal swearing about the author and/or requests to commit violence about their person), thanks for understanding that, yeah I can be grumpy when I don’t get enough work done. But most of all, thanks for being you, for loving this comic book reading, anime watching, videogame playing, tattooed geek. I love you, and it doesn’t matter how many times I say that, it will always be true.

 

Seeing how my wife would probably bludgeon me if I posted a picture of her, here’s some cute puppies. Because everyone loves puppies.

So, there you have it. Me being soppy. It doesn’t happen too often in public, but if you have a partner who is supportive and always there to help you in your writing or art or whatever it is that takes up a lot of your time. Tell them thank you. You don’t have to do it today; you can, and should, do it any day you choose. But do it often. Because they’re some of the most important people you will ever have beside you.

 

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Personal, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I’ve just published a post that may relate to you: The Box of Oblivion.

  2. Nicely done steve although personally I prefer kittens. LOL

  3. Awww that was sooo Sweet. 🙂 She’s a lucky lady and you are a lucky guy.

  4. Nice to see the creator of Nate has a softer side. 😉 There’s no way I could write without the support of my wife either. Good on you for giving credit where it’s due.

    I hope you were able to do something nice for Valentines.

  5. That is just beautiful to see Steve..

Leave a Reply

