The Hellequin Re-launch Competition

As I’m sure some of you know, my first 2 books, Crimes Against Magic and Born of Hatred will be re-released with new covers and content on 17th September.

When I published Crimes Against Magic last April, I didn’t really have anything to give away, so when I published Born of Hatred last December, I had a competition to win a Lego Nate.

Everyone loved Lego Nate.

Well, I was trying to figure out what would be the best thing to give away for the relaunch of the first 2 books by 47North, and I think I came up with something

So, we’re going to have a competition where 1 lucky winner, will get something cool.

Over the next few weeks (the competition will run for 2 weeks), I will post status’s about the books and this competition, for every person who re-tweets or shares these messages, their name will go into hat.

McHugh_Crimes_Against_Magic_cvr_FINAL

You can share and re-tweet as often as you like, and each time you do, you get a new name in the hat, meaning your chances of winning increase.

So, what’s the prize?

McHugh_Born_of_Hatred_cvr_FINAL

You will get to name a character for use in book 4, Prison of Hope.

In fact, I will draw 3 names from the hat and each person gives me 2 names. The one I like the best wins the competition and also gets their own name in the book’s acknowledgements.

However, all 3 people I pick will win signed copies of either Crimes Against Magic or Born of Hatred (your choice).

Now before we start there are some rules:

  1. It can’t be a real person. So no George Clooney or Eva Green.
  2. It has to be a real name. While I’m sure you can come up with some very funny names, none of them are ones I’m going to fit in the book.
  3. I reserve the right to say I don’t like anyone’s name and ask everyone to re-do them.

So, there you go, the chance to name your very own character just for sharing or re-tweeting my posts about my blog or books on Facebook and Twitter.

One last thing, if you click on the link below to re-tweet or share this, please make a comment on the blog so I can track you. Cheers.

Good luck.

Posted on September 10, 2013, in Annoucement, Fun, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Levantine Green is a real person? Who knew?

  2. Eva! Stupid auto correct!

  3. Ok, have shared this on Facebook. I want to win.

  4. Shared on FB and Twitter 🙂

  5. Well, as much as I’d like to win this competition, I don’t do Facebook or Twitter, or any of the other social media. Maybe you could just put me down as a semi technologically literate Luddite.
    On a separate note, I think the new covers look awesome, especially “Crimes Against Magic”, and as for Lego Nate, he’s pretty cool, but not as cool as Clutch Powers!!

    • Yeah, I tried thinking of a way to include everyone who doesn’t use Twitter or FB in it and couldn’t come up with one that really worked. I’ll be running other competitions that don’t reaquire FB or Twitter at some point though.
      I had to actually google clutch powers. I can safely say I haven’t seen that film

      • My daughter watched it the first time about 2 weeks ago. It has now been on almost every day. It’s cutting into my ability to quote scenes from the Blues Brothers movie!

  6. You could always give the non social media types a “write in entry” like most sweepstakes seem to have.

  7. oh, the I shared it and my sons name you would say it was made up but, Chase Lightning would be my pick!!

  8. This is awesome

Leave a Reply

