Until Dawn

I’ve played a lot of games over the years. A LOT. And for a while I was very much into my horror games; Resi Evil, Silent Hill, those kinds of games. Resi 2 and Silent Hill 2 are both some of the greatest games ever made.

download (2)

The Last of Us is one of my favourite games of all time, it’s a brilliant mesh of horror, action and stealth that really works, although it helps that it had a great story with fantastic characters. Until Dawn

Well, Until Dawn came out just a few days ago and I’ve finished it. It didn’t take long- about 7 hours- but I’ve already re-started to try and save everyone. It’s a brilliant, unsettling, scary, and funny game. It has some of the best acting in a game I’ve seen in ages and a genuinely good story.

In the era of Telltale games and the re-emergence of the point and click adventure game, Until Dawn does it better than anyone has so far. It’s probably my favourite game this year alongside Witcher 3.

The thing about it that amazed me, was how the characters grow. You start the game and think several of them are self-important dicks, but as the horrific events unfold (and there’s some properly grim stuff in there) these characters change, they grow and become people they need to be to deal with the situation. It’s brilliant writing and something that isn’t done enough in games.

So, if you like horror, or just a good story, Until Dawn will be right up your street. Even my wife, who has almost zero interest in videogames, sat every night I was playing it to see how it ended, to see which characters lived and died through my own actions. And she still wants to watch it again to see if I can save everyone. 

2872693-stormare

Oh and Peter Stormare is fantastic in it. If you own a PS4 and like good stories, pick it up. You won’t regret it.

Posted on September 1, 2015, in Games and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

