Lies Ripped Open: A Month Later

So, Lies Ripped Open came out just over a month ago, and I thought it would be nice to see how it’s done.

Lies Ripped Open Front Cover smaller

In short it’s done very well. It entered the Amazon top 100 bestselling books in the US, and was just outside in the UK. In fact after a month in the US, it’s here:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,821 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

And in the UK, it’s here:

Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #917 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

I’ve got to say, I’m more than a little astonished by how well it’s done. And review wise it’s been great too.

Liz Wilkins said:

I’m not going to make any bones about what a huge fan of this series I am, most people know it anyway, but just to be clear I am a HUGE fan of this series.

With Lies Ripped Open the addictive quality of the Hellequin Chronicles goes into overdrive – I read this, fast and furious into the early hours of this morning so Steve McHugh definitely owes me a coffee or six – but you kind of just have to keep going once you start.

The backstory is fleshed out in this instalment, giving some insight into past events and also setting us up for more to come – Nate is on top form here and the magical mythology that the author has created using his own obviously insane imagination and mixing it up with stories we all know has also taken a huge jump in depth and creativity.

This is quite firmly in the adult market – Urban Fantasy for those of us who like our stories uncompromisingly realistic despite the mythological backdrop, Lies Ripped Open was a purely joyful read that I was more than happy to lose sleep over.

The dialogue is witty and full of ironic clarity, I love all the characters and each new novel brings something a little different than the last, the ongoing storyline is really well constructed – for that reason I would recommend reading these in order, although you CAN jump in at any point and have an excellent time.

Brilliant. The only problem being of course is now the wait starts for book 6. Which after THAT ending you will kind of wish you had sat there already. Taps foot.

If you haven’t read these yet and are a fan of all things magic and mayhem then this whole series will definitely be for you.

Jesse said:

This fifth book in the Hellequin series moves the main, overarching plot forward quite a bit. There are a number of significant developments that take place along the way, and several major situations change in a no-turning-back sort of way. As is typical with this series, the book was riveting from start to end and left me wanting more, yet was also very satisfying at multiple points along the way.

So, all in all, it’s been a wonderful month. But I know people want to be told what’s happening next. Well unfortunately I can’t tell you that yet, I should be able to soon enough, but for now that’s going to have to stay under wraps. I can tell you that Book 6 is being written, and that the Flashbacks are set in 1195 in the Kingdom of Jerusalem, but that’s it.

Thank you to everyone who grabbed a copy to read or listen to, it’s been wonderful hearing how much people have enjoyed it. Here’s to many more to come.

Posted on September 30, 2015, in Lies Ripped Open and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Great looking sales and some really positive feedback. Even better, it’s positive in a way strongly suggesting readers want to finish the series – an accomplishment after so many books.

    • Thanks very much. It’s been a strange and exciting 3 years since I first published. From what I hear most people who buy book 1 then buy the rest, which is something I’m very happy about.

  2. I must say, that I am not surprised your book sells are through the roof. Your Hellequin series is by far one of the best series I have ever read/listened to. When I first listened to Crimes Against Magic on audiobook, I immediately fell in love!! It’s been ages since an author has been able to make me feel deeply about every character. Even the ones I hate! To me that is amazing and as soon as I finished Crimes Against Magic, I immediately bought the rest and waited on pins and needles for Lies Ripped Open. You are truly a literary genius and I look forward to much more! Congratulations, you deserve many praise! Oh, and I really hope to see more of Remy. He had me in tears laughing.

  3. Excellent series. I have read books 1-4 in the past week, book 5 is about to be opened.
    I look forward to the next in the series. I am always happy to come upon an new author who can pen stories with interesting characters, exciting plot, that can hold my interest for hours. Congratulations!

  4. Can’t wait for the next one. Please let us see selene again. Love the whole series by the way

  5. Amazing. I only came across this series last month whilst on holiday in Mexico to pass the time, and fell in love with it. Helps when the main character shares your name (Power to the Nathans!) Have just finished Lies Ripped Open roughly 10 minutes ago and am on the search for information on the next. A little grief stricken to find it was a recent release and book 6 isn’t available for immediate reading for I need to know what happens next!
    I only wish I had a favourite character, but I cant settle on anyone as they’re all awesome! Remy is pretty hilarious though, so he’s up near the top of the pile

    Keep it up Steve!

    ps. if you can reveal to me any secrets on the story, I wouldn’t object! (hehe)

Leave a Reply

